Posted by: theresegilardi | January 22, 2015

First and Fourth Fridays Welcomes Helen Pollard

WarmHeartsinWinter_HelenPollard_ Cover

 

 

“First and Fourth Fridays” is delighted to welcome Helen Pollard, the author of the recently released “Warm Hearts in Winter”.

Helen Pollard writes contemporary romance with old-fashioned heart, and lives in Yorkshire, UK with her husband, two teenagers and a psychotic cat. Warm Hearts in Winter is her first published romance.

Now that we’ve met Helen, let’s get right to the Four Questions:

1) What was the first book that so captured your imagination that you felt a physical loss when you reached the last page?
Probably ‘The Catcher in the Rye’ by J D Salinger. We read it in school when I was fourteen, and I became so caught up in the character of Holden Caulfield that I couldn’t bear to leave him at the end of the book.
2) What is the most romantic/loving thing you’ve ever done for someone else?
Our wedding was a small-scale affair. It rained and quite a few other things went wrong on the day! Since neither of us have particularly fond memories of the day itself, a few years ago I got all the photos together and spent months scrapbooking them into a beautiful album with ribbons and doodads and all the rest, to make our memories more special. My husband was impressed at the time, although I’m not sure he’s looked at it much since… Still, it’s the thought that counts!
3) What is the most romantic/sweet/loving thing someone has ever done for you?
My husband and I first started dating a couple of weeks before Valentine’s Day (22 years ago!) and in the week running up to it, he posted a Valentine’s card to me every single day – it was quite a collection!
Romantic gestures can be nice, but for me it’s the small, everyday loving things that matter most. He cares for me when I’m sick, listens to me when I rant, tries to cheer me up when I’m down, and cheers me on when I have a goal I want to achieve. I couldn’t ask for more.
4) What do you think is the most romantic song?
‘Have I told you lately that I love you?’ sung by Van Morrison. The lyrics express perfectly how I feel about my husband.

Here’s the blurb for “Warm Hearts in Winter”:

Forced by circumstance into the world of temping, when Abby Davis accepts an assignment in the wilds of Yorkshire as personal assistant to a widowed novelist, she assumes he is an ageing recluse.

Thirty-something Jack Blane is anything but. Still struggling to get his life and writing career back on track three years after his wife’s death, Jack isn’t ready for a breath of fresh air like Abby.

Snowed in at his winter retreat on the moors, as the weeks go by and their working relationship becomes friendship and maybe more, Abby must rethink her policy of never getting involved with someone at work … and Jack must decide whether he is willing to risk the pain of love a second time.

This novel sounds like the perfect read for a cold winter’s day. Here is where to get your copy:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00O2BOMWU

http://tinyurl.com/B-N-WarmHeartsInWinter

And connect with Helen! You’ll find her at: http://helenpollardwrites.wordpress.com

http://tinyurl.com/FacebookHelenPollardWrites

 

And On Twitter @HelenPollard147

And on Tsu @HelenPollard

And on Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8647878.Helen_Pollard


Responses

  1. Thanks for having me visit, Therese!

  2. Glad I visited. Here’s wishing much success to Helen.

    • Thank you so much, Clay. Thanks for visiting!

  3. so you have a psychotic cat also? wow.
    All these years, I’ve heard people rave about Catcher in the Rye and I still have not read it!
    As I’ve said before I totally love your cover and really like the premise of your story. I’m sure I will enjoy it when I can make some progress on my TBR pile.

    • Thanks, Jeff! Yes, the cat does cute and evil equally well – and sometimes both at once!
      As for Catcher in the Rye, I don’t know whether it affected me so much because I was an angst-ridden teenager and could relate to the main character …. but I’ve read it since and still enjoyed it. Many of my classmates hated it though.


Leave a comment

Categories