Posted by: theresegilardi | September 27, 2012

BLOG FEST 2012 – WELCOME TO MY PLACE

Henry Miller wrote, “One’s destination is never a place but a new way of looking at things”. That’s going to be quite the news flash for all the bus drivers, pilots, train conductors, pedestrians, and commuters setting out for fixed addresses this weekend. It’s also quite the revelation for those who, like me, adore setting. I’m sorry but I do not think that the dusty flats of Barstow can be interchanged with the icy pavements of Boston.

Don’t you agree? Reading is like all of life’s other great pleasures: sensory. I don’t care if I’m reading the back of a shampoo bottle, the side of a carry-out pizza box, or an old metro ticket. I want to be THERE. And I appreciate any writer who lends me a helping hand by breaking that fourth wall and pulling me into a new world. That’s why I love a story where setting is a character in its own right. As a writer, I don’t think any of my poems, essays, or short stories can ever be divorced from the piece of planet into which they’re placed. Certainly my paranormal romance novel, “Matching Wits With Venus”, could not have happened outside of the Hollywood Hills. I NEEDED the fairy dust that falls from those tall white letters that spell out dream factory. I found my inspiration, the souls of my characters, on the deck of the Griffith Observatory, not off the coast of southern Florida, as lovely as that land must be. But the Everglades are another story ….

Here’s the opening line of “Matching Wits With Venus”. “In the valley below the thirty foot white block white letters that spelled out HOLLYWOOD, between Ripley’s “Believe it or Not” museum and a string of psychic reading rooms, sat a glass-front shop with a rose-colored door. Above the storefront’s small bay window a pink and purple sign proclaimed, “Happily Ever After by Amelia”.

You tell me: would this story have been the same in Los Alamos? What about you? What’s your place? Let me know, and you’ll be eligible to win a copy of “Matching Wits With Venus”. Thanks for stopping by – may you have a wonderful weekend, wherever your place.

Thanks to Cinnamon Brown, creator of Blogfest: http://www.ajourneyofbooks.com/

Please visit these other Blogfest contributors: http://seductivemusings.blogspot.com/; http://snarkymamma.blogspot.com/; http://kirutayewrites.blogspot.com/; http://fromthetbrpile.blogspot.com/; http://www.hesperialovesbooks.com/

 

CONGRATULATIONS CASSANDRA HICKS! YOU HAVE WON A COPY OF “MATCHING WITS WITH VENUS”.  THANKS SO MUCH TO EVERYONE WHO HAS STOPPED BY – AND NOW A MEA CULPA. I AM VERY SORRY THAT I AM SO TARDY IN POSTING MY WINNER – WHEN I WENT TO LOG ONTO MY ACCOUNT AT THE BEGINNING OF LAST WEEK I SUSTAINED AN INJURY TO MY THUMB (ON MY DESK NO LESS) WHICH, ALTHOUGH INITIALLY THOUGHT TO BE BROKEN, WAS ONLY SPRAINED. SO I APOLOGIZE FOR MY INABILITY TO GET THIS ANNOUNCEMENT OUT THERE. I WISH ALL OF YOU A HAPPY AND HEALTHY HALLOWEEN AND A VERY HAPPY FALL SEASON (OR SPRING, FOR MY FRIENDS DOWN UNDER).  : )

Responses

  1. Hi Therese…my place would be in the Upper Penisula of MI…because it has many shops like what you’ve described scatter throughout:)
    Thanks for the opportunity – I love the Blog Fest:)

    • oh kay dee, i have always wanted to visit the UP – it looks so beautiful, especially at this time of year. thanks for stopping by!

  2. no way, there is something magical about Hollywood.

    My place? For now it is the Outer Banks, but if I ever travel to the West Coast, I suspect it will be Seattle.

    • tiffany you are so right, there’s something special about the carolinas. thanks for your comment.

  3. I agree that setting is paramount and not at all interchangeable. Though I currently reside in Minnesota my inspiration and devotion is to Boston. Oh how I would love to live there. *le sigh* Thanks for the giveaway!

    • wow, minnesota – i have heard that the winter carnival is spectacular. i’ve two friends in greater minneapolis and i love that lake near the mary tyler moore house. thanks for your visit frodosco.

  4. I am sure the book would not be the same set in any other location… but while setting is important, how the characters live, breathe and work within the setting is just as important as the location.
    My place is currently Southern Oregon… someday I hope to reply that it is India. 🙂 Thank you! ~Hope

    • i agree hope – setting intermingles how we live and work and play, doesn’t it? india sounds so mystical – have you seen “the most excellent marigold hotel”?

  5. I agree with you. My place would have to be the Smokey Mountain region 🙂
    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!
    cassandrahicks1989@yahoo.com

    • thanks for your visit cassandra. like you, i love mountains.

  6. In terms of the introductory paragraph, if you decided to leave out the description of the white HOLLYWOOD sign, then, yes, you might be able to place your book in a different setting. But as your post states, place is very important to you.

    As for me, place is indicative of the characters’ upbringing, social setting, and does play an important part not only in the plot, but the characters’ overall disposition.

    My place is “home” found in my husband and children, and most often in a good book, if not always.

    Thanks for your giveaway and for your participating in The Blog Fest.

    I love your blog post writing style!

    Zara Alexis @ The Bibliotaphe’s Closet

    • Here’s my email (though you can find me on WordPress as well):
      zgarcia(dot)alvarez(at)gmail(dot)com

    • that is so sweet – your family is very lucky to have you. and you are fortunate to have others in your life who define home for you. : )

  7. Boston would be a nice place.

    • yes! i love bean town. thanks for stopping by!


Leave a Reply

Categories

