Posted by: theresegilardi | September 24, 2011

“The View From A Broad”

Greetings Six Sunday Readers! I hope that you, like me, are enjoying the onset of autumn – isn’t it marvelous to see the Brach’s candy corn and pumpkin mix hit the shelves? Today I’m featuring six sentences from an essay of mine, “The View From A Broad”, that appears in the book: “Knowing Pains: Women on Love, Sex and Work in our 40’s”. As October and its pink ribbon days approach, you have a chance to help eradicate a cancer that strikes far too many women worldwide. All proceeds from “Knowing Pains”, a collection of essays profound and profane by writers from around the U.S., benefit a cancer charity.

SIX SENTENCES:

It’s taken me decades to drag myself into an athletic club.  And I would have happily avoided the gym for the rest of my life, since a room full of exercise equipment is about as appealing to me as a voluntary organ transplant, but for the fact that I don’t have a shower.

For the past few years, I’ve tried to convince myself that there’s nothing wrong with slithering through the streets wearing a thin layer of soap and shampoo residue (and, when I’m lucky, a bit of hair dye as well).  Sometimes I even congratulate myself for being so clever as to always have that base layer of fragrance in place; after all, I always smell like the lovely Roger and Gallet’s linden blossom bath gel I pour into my tub. Okay, it’s a little bit disgusting to wear dead skin cells and old soap every day, and it can’t be too good for my pores, but, hey, it’s one of the many compromises I have made in exchange for the chance to live in Paris.

I accept that showers are now like half-gallon milk jugs  and candy corn, luxuries to be savored on vacation.

As always, thank you for your visit. May your week be fabulous.

Responses

  1. I’m loving the voice here! Could you poke me on twitter or something, to let me know where I can purchase this book? Thanks!

  2. Ack, I can’t even imagine not having a shower! But I suppose sacrifices must be made… I love the descriptiveness of this six. Great job!

  3. An unusual and yet interesting six. 🙂

  4. Love the description.

  5. Very distinctive and original. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Really like your character. Great six.

  7. Love the comparison of showers to candy corn. Fun six!

  8. Nice imagery, if nice is the right word. =)

  9. Very distinctive idea, though I think you could probably trim a little of the second paragraph as I got a little confused about the second & third lines in that paragraph… leaving the baseline scent… how is that different from your character washing at her own house? Even if she only has a bathtub, you can rinse it all off, and the shampoo/etc would still leave its scent on her body, same as rinsing off in a shower. Therefore, I’m not quite sure why you dedicated two sentences to it…

    Am I just misunderstanding? (that is entirely possible)


Leave a Reply

Categories

