Posted by: theresegilardi | July 17, 2011

TREASURE QUEST MEGA BLOG HOP

WELCOME to the Treasure Quest Mega Blog Hop! 

TOUR RULES:

1)  HAVE FUN!!!

2)  INVITE ALL OF YOUR FRIENDS!!! SPREAD THE WORD!!!

3)  THIS TOUR STARTS:  Monday, July 18, at Midnight (Arizona Time)       THIS TOUR ENDS: Monday, July 25, at Midnight (Arizona Time)       Winners will be drawn and posted July 26th! *** 

4)  MEET AND MINGLE WITH ALL THE AUTHORS! EXPERIENCE A NEW PARTY DESTINATION AT EVERY STOP! PARTICIPATE IN EVERY BLOG CONTEST AND BE ENTERED FOR CHANCES TO WIN MULTIPLE PRIZES! EVERY BLOG VISITED IS ANOTHER OPPORTUNITY TO WIN!!

5)  PARTICIPATION AT ALL BLOGS IS RECOMMENDED, BUT NOT REQUIRED. REMEMBER, THE MORE BLOGS YOU HOP, THE BETTER YOUR CHANCES OF WINNING PRIZES. EVERY AUTHOR IS WAITING TO MEET AND INTERACT WITH YOU, SO PLEASE BE SURE TO SHOW EVERY AUTHOR SOME LOVE!
 
6) DID I MENTION TO HAVE FUN?  WHOO! HOO!! HERE WE GOOOOOOOOOOOO!
 
***Authors have full discretion to choose an alternate winner in the event any winner fails to claim their prize(s) within 72 hours of their name being posted or after notification of  win, whichever comes first. Anyone who participates in this blog hop tour is subject to these rules***
Bonjour! I’m thrilled to welcome back Mega Blog Hop participants and pleased to have the chance to meet those joining us for the first time. Our theme for this hop is TREASURE QUEST. As a reader and a writer, I feel that the hidden gem in every piece of work  is a sense of place. From the loathsome Limerick lanes of Frank McCourt’s “Angela’s Ashes” to the libertine Los Angeles featured in Charles Bukowski’s poetry to the haunting, memorable moors found in Emily Bronte’s “Wuthering Heights”, a sense of place really helps me to taste, touch, hear, smell, and see the worlds on the page.  
I hope you’ll join Amelia and Cupid as they travel between the kooky, mortal world of Hollywood and the lush, Roman underworld in “Matching Wits With Venus”. 

For centuries Cupid has longed to be more than Venus’s arrow boy.  When he’s sent to eliminate “Happily Ever After by Amelia”, the matchmaking business threatening Venus’s status as the goddess of love, Cupid decides to steal Amelia’s methods and make his own matches.  While spying on Amelia, Cupid accidentally shoots himself with his magical arrow and falls in love with her.  But bereaved Amelia doesn’t believe in the existence of Roman gods, and she’s certainly not looking for romance.  She’s too busy perfecting the patented personality profile that’s made her Hollywood’s favorite matchmaker.

 Disguising himself as a mortal financial advisor, Cupid manages to break through Amelia’s guarded exterior.  As their passion deepens so does Cupid’s guilt about deceiving Amelia.  Cupid’s interference with Amelia’s life causes her business to falter, leads to a sterile spring that threatens the animal kingdom and shatters the longstanding peace between the Roman and Greek gods.  With the fate of the natural and under worlds at stake, Cupid must decide whether to reveal his true identity and risk losing the chance to live happily ever after with Amelia.

I hope you enjoyed this little taste of “Matching Wits With Venus”.  Everyone who leaves a comment is eligible for the grand prize, a signed copy of “Matching Wits With Venus”.  

You know that I am a huge fan of a fabulous setting.  What is the hidden gem that draws YOU into a book?

Thank you for your visit! I hope we meet again: I’m on Facebook and Goodreads, and you can find me here every week on French Fridays, when I share off-beat tips about France that I learned during my many years of residence in the hexagon. Until then, have a wonderful week, and enjoy the rest of the mega blog hop. Your next stop is http://dominiqueeastwick.blogs​pot.com/2011/07/treasure-quest​-discovery-lies-between.html.
BIG NEWS: FOR THOSE WHO CAN’T WAIT TO SEE IF THEY’VE WON A FREE COPY OF “MATCHING WITS WITH VENUS”, THE BOOK IS CURRENTLY AVAILABLE, FOR A LIMITED TIME ONLY, ON AMAZON.COM (IN KINDLE FORMAT ONLY) FOR $1.99! http://www.amazon.com/ Once again, thank you for your support.    CONGRATULATIONS TO JUNE M – YOU HAVE WON A SIGNED COPY OF “MATCHING WITS WITH VENUS”
Responses

  1. Love the post, Therese:)

  2. Love the post:)
    I love reading books that take that turn you just dont know is coming and ones that are hard to put down:)

    Thank you for the giveaway!

    elliott2668(at)yahoo(dot)com

    • i agree, books that are hard to predict are the best.

  3. ‘Place’ is like the un-named character in a story. Great post. (and good to get in to post on this wordpress site LOL

  4. Great post
    My treasure in a book is the characters that make you feel like their real and you can live their adventures with them
    Thanks for the giveaway
    Nathiel/The wolfs library
    nathielgold@gmail.com

    • you are so right, nathiel – characters are what makes a book memorable.

  5. Lovely post-thank you.
    I think the main thing that draws me into a book is the plot and characters – both have to be good!
    Thank you for the giveaway!
    smith_p43[at]sky[dot]com

  6. Characters, even secondary, draw me into a book. I loved the post! edysicecreamlover18ATgmailDOTcom

  7. Awesome 😀 that looks like something I want to read.

    dawnab19@yahoo.com

  8. Thanks for the giveaway!
    Since I already have your book and I am reading it at the moment, I am not entering, just hopping by. I love your book! It is really good!

    inga from http://www.ingasilbergbooks.com

    • thanks for the visit, inga – i’m so happy you like the book.

  9. Love the post!!

    The hidden gem that draws me into a book is characters I can relate to in someway.

    Thanks for the giveaway

    iluvkimi_220@hotmail.co.uk

    • i’m with you, lisa, characters make a book enjoyable.

  10. Great Blog and what draws me into the book is the Characters 🙂

  11. I love it when the setting is as much a character as the people. Great post!
    authorrozlee at gmail dot com

    • a fellow setting lover – nice to see you, roz.

  12. I don’t know. Books that draw me in just have something – a scene, a character, an idea – that just takes me in and won’t let go. It’s that special X factor that I can’t put my finger on, but I know it when I read it!!

    Your book sounds like a definite X factor book to me, and I am very excited to read it! Thanks so much for an awesome giveaway 🙂

    jwit33 at live dot com

  13. This sounds great…. Honestly, it could be anything that draws me to a book… My biggest thing is the setting, character development and in general, how well written it is.

    shadowestr@aol.com

    • you’ve covered all of the bases, ashley.

  14. I have to admit I get sold instantly on a cover I like. I know you shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover alone but I can’t help it. Thanks for the giveaway!

    Margaret
    singitm@hotmail.com

    • i agree, margaret, i adore a great cover.

  15. Sounds really good. Thanks for sharing!

    bacchus76 at myself dot com

    • thank you – and i love “bacchus” – the god bacchus appears in “matching wits with venus”.

  16. Your book sounds awesome!

    • thanks, nikki, that’s very sweet of you!

  17. It’s the characters that do it for me. I love characters that are so alive you can really feel for them and race through the book so that you can find out what happens to them in the end.
    Jennyt82@ymail.com

    • i’m with you, jenny – i remember characters years after i’ve finished the book.

  18. Great post I would say the characters draw me in.

    Thanks for the giveaway

    bhitwr at gmail dot com

  19. hi babs, thanks for your visit!

  20. Thanks for the giveaway and blog hop tour!
    Matching Wits With Venus sounds great!!!

    • thanks diana, thanks for joining the hop.

  21. Thankyou for the nice post

  22. What draws me into a story the most are well written characters and a storyline that progresses well. Love the sound of this book.
    manning_j2004 at yahoo dot com

  23. A good opening…thats what draws me into a story…something that catches you

  24. Hi! I hope to read your book in the future one day, it sounds very interesting and my type of book (: I also love classical myth involving the greek gods and goddesses (: Thank you for the giveaway! (: The gem that draws me into a book would have to be the character’s personality, the book has to make me laugh a little bit, especially the character’s sarcasm. Definitely some action scenes, the fighting scenes. I am a big sucker for romance, so the romance scenes is what draws me the most to a book.

    vampyreprincess109(at)gmail(dot)com

    • hi ellen, you’ve got an impressive list of what you draws you into a book.

  25. I love an interesting couple, and you’re right, a “sense of place”! Your book looks so good!

    Robin D
    robindpdx (at) yahoo (dot) com

  26. For me, it’s not only how real the characters are, but how the descriptions can truly transport you to another place and time.

    Thanks for the chance. Sounds like a great book!
    tweezle(at)gmail(dot)com

  27. The setting. I love reading about new, er, old, places!
    Matching Wits with Venus sounds like an enticing read!

  28. I love a book with a great romance. I also want the main character to be a strong independent woman! If it is full of adventure it is an even bigger bonus.

  29. you’ve got the winning formula, rhonda!

  30. Thanks for the giveaway!
    Thanks for participating in the blog hop.
    Sounds like a wonderfully fun read.

    (\___/)
    (=’.’=)
    (“)_(“)

    alterlisa AT yahoo DOT com
    http://lisaslovesbooksofcourse.blogspot.com/

  31. Awesome post! Your book sounds great! Thanks for sharing and for the chance to win!
    shadow_kohler(at)att(dot)net

    • you’re welcome, thanks for participating.


Leave a Reply

Categories

