Posted by: theresegilardi | May 9, 2011

“Marriage on Sunset”

Welcome!  Please take a seat behind either the bride or the groom. Today’s post is part of a blog hop, brought to you by the six Astraea Press authors who have contributed to “Matrimonial Mayhem”, a romantic short story collection. All proceeds from “Matrimonial Mayhem” will benefit the Governor of Alabama’s Office of Faith-Based and Community Initiatives, which is assisting those hardest hit by the recent tornadoes. In the nuptial spirit of gift giving, Astraea Press is handing out wedding favors: everyone who visits and leaves a comment on all seven of the blogs that are part of this hop is eligible. Prizes include books, a teddy bear and a necklace. So grab your wedding veil and cut yourself a slice of cake. “Marriage on Sunset”, my contribution to “Matrimonial Mayhem”, features Stella and Gerard Coillard, the parents of Hollywood matchmaker Amelia. Amelia is the heroine of “Matching Wits With Venus”, my recently released paranormal romance about a brainy Hollywood matchmaker and the Roman god Cupid.

Like Stella, the heroine in “Marriage on Sunset”, I married in the 1980’s, the era of flamingo pink t-shirts, tight-waisted power suits with shoulder pads wide as a doorway, and so much hair gel you always had to hope no one around you was careless with a cigarette. But enough about the men’s fashions … this post is about wedding foods: that perfect marriage between taste and tradition, competing culinary customs, and dueling mothers-in-law.

Of course I’m kidding about that part; at least where my family is concerned.  For you see, what my husband and I both have is an Irish mother. While this heritage leads to a gift for the gab, an uncanny ability to read tea leaves and a love of the Guinness, it does  not, for the most part, equate with fancy foods. And fancy food is what I, impoverished student bride, wanted on my wedding day. Fortunately my parents are very generous, and we had my father’s background from which to draw. Not only was his father Italian, but my grandfather had been in the restaurant business. And his wife, my paternal grandmother, had the ability to create a meal from left-overs that would make Julia Child weep. So my wedding feast consisted of Italian wedding soup, Belgian endive, a pasta whose red sauce was as smooth and creamy as red velvet, a delicious meat course, and the best cake you’ve ever tasted – even after a year in the freezer, the top tier was still luscious.  And yet, the gourmet meal lacked a piece of the Emerald Isle.

The other night, as a sort of pre-anniversary dinner, my husband and I went to a new Irish pub in our neighborhood, where they were serving a Guinness float, which is exactly as it sounds: thick dollops of ice cream set inside a cold glass of Guinness. We looked at each other, mournfully – if only we’d known! Fortunately our children are still single. I haven’t told them yet, but I’ve got a great idea, an unforgettable addition for each of their wedding menus ….

What special foods did you enjoy on your wedding day?

Thank you for passing through my receiving line. May your day be sunny and your glass full. The next stop on your blog hop is: http://jfjenkinswrites.wordpress.com/

Responses

  1. can’t wait to read it!!

  2. thanks kathleen! best, therese

  3. My family owned a catering company when I was growing up, so I spent many a summer helping make wedding food! I have fond memories of spending time with my aunts, slaving over thousands of finger sandwiches 🙂

    • wow! i too worked at a catering company, although for some reason i wasn’t allowed to touch the food – i was always washing the dishes. thanks for stopping by jennifer. best, therese

  4. The idea of a Gunniess float is almost gross enough to work…

    • believe it or not sheila those babies were selling like crazy … best, therese

  5. I’m not (yet!) married, but I’ve always fancied the idea of a potluck wedding reception. My partner and I are both vegetarian (I was vegan for the last two years), so getting all guests on board with that idea might be difficult without having 50 tofu-based dishes, but hey… it will save on catering!

    • what a great way to engage your guests! i’m sure you will have different dishes. i wish you the best of luck. congratulations, therese

  6. I don’t remember even eating at my wedding. My husband and I were so busy talking to people and avoiding our photographer we just didn’t have time. 🙂

    • i hear you about avoiding the photographer – that was my husband all the way! thanks for stopping by liz. best, therese

  7. It’s been quite a while since I thought back about my wedding dinner, but it was fabulous. My godmother prepared a gourmet feast, but I was so excited I only took a few bites and made my way around the room to talk to guests! I’d do it differently if I had a second chance. I’d eat lots.

    • hi, and thanks for stopping by! i don’t know what it is about me, perhaps i’ve always been a foodie at heart, but i’ve never had an issue with eating. i sat through all of the courses at our dinner, although perhaps i was just gearing up for the night on the dance floor.

  8. The special foods we had at our wedding were novel at the time, less so now: edible flowers on the salad, a basket of mixed breads, muffins, and rolls, duck breast in raspberry reduction. OK, it was yummy…Thanks for the reminder!

    • thanks for sharing jenny – isn’t it funny how today’s exotic foods become tomorrow’s everyday fare. best, therese


Leave a Reply

Categories

